Turkana Friends Mission Appoints New Board Members

The Turkana Friends Mission held their board meeting on 30 March 2024 at Lodwar Friends Church, which is currently the mission’s headquarters. This was the first board meeting of 2024 and in attendance was the presiding clerk of East Africa Yearly Meeting North, Henry Waswa, the Young Friends (YFP) clerk for EAYM-North, and FUM programme coordinator, Getry Agizah.The board meeting had a variety of agenda items, cutting across from sustainability projects, budgeting for mission resources, and issues affecting the Boy Child Education system. This comes after the board member training that was facilitated by FUM General Secretary Kelly Kellum during his visit in February, at Friends Theological College in Kaimosi. The training left the board members energized and equipped with knowledge of their roles as board members. The team effort will empower the mission towards sustainable development goals and brainstorming discussions on way forward and strategic plans to ensure that the mission is highly sustainable in the near future.

As part of the board meeting the members participated in the nomination of new board members. Jonah Namulen takes over from John Lomuria as the new board chairman. Lomuria has successfully completed two terms as the chairman and continues to serve Turkana Friends Mission in the capacity of board representative for the Lodwar area. Other nominated officers include Charles Erot as Vice Chairperson, Jennifer Lomase as Vice Secretary, while Michael Ekai will continue to serve in the capacity of treasurer.The FUM fraternity wishes the new board members well as they spearhead the mission’s vision to success and faithfulness.

April 9, 2024