Leadership Transitions in Samburu

Friends United Meeting is pleased to report on the recent transitions in leadership at Samburu Friends Mission.

Sammy Letoole was appointed Director of Samburu Friends Mission in 2013, upon the retirement of the founder of the mission, Isaiah Bikokwa. Sammy was the first Samburu to lead the mission, and under his Directorship the Friends movement in Samburu experienced rapid growth. Sammy completed the Diploma in Theology at Friends Theological College and a Bachelors of Science in Community Development at Laikipia University.

Sammy was recently appointed to the position of Director of Special Programmes for Samburu County, a senior leadership role within the government. In this capacity, he is responsible for all peace, violence reduction, disaster relief and emergency response in the vast Samburu County. Samburu Friends are proud of Sammy for this promotion, and have prayed over him that he would exercise wise and humble leadership in order to bear witness to Christ wherever he goes.

The Samburu Friends Mission Board, at its meeting on 8 February 2020, appointed Daniel Lentirangoi of Lorumoki Friends Church to serve as Acting Administrator for a one year period, while the Board carries out the search process for a new Director. Daniel is a recent graduate of Laikipia University with a teaching degree (specializations in History and Christian Religious Education), and hopes to enroll in the Bachelors of Theology programme at Friends Theological College later in 2020.

A new Mission Board was installed in September 2019, and began its work by expressing gratitude for the service of the outgoing Board members, who had served since 2013, being the first Mission Board composed of Samburu people. On 9 February 2020, in a celebratory worship service at Loltulelei Friends Church, the old members were appreciated with gifts, and the new members were prayed over by the church members. The new Board consists of:

· Philip Lelelit (Loltulelei), Chair

· Mary Kaoni (Loltulelei), Vice Chair and carry-over from the previous board

· Noah Lekisima (Lorumoki), Treasurer

· Daniel Lentirangoi (Lorumoki), Secretary

· Thomas Leshipayo (Lorian)

· Edward Mukongolo (Loosuk), representing the pastors

· Jane Mutoro (Nairobi), FUM representative to the Board

· Shawn McConaughey (FUM staff)

· Katrina McConaughey (FUM staff)

· Plus three members from EAYM-North, yet to be named.

FUM invites all Friends to pray for Samburu Friends Mission and its new leadership, that they may indeed bear compelling witness to the living Christ throughout Samburu County.

Julie Rudd